Cohn & Swartzon, P.C. Compassion, Knowledge, Results!

What is the Maximum Penalty for Texting While Driving?

Texting while driving is illegal in the state of California. While the penalties for texting while driving vary from state to state, some states like Alaska have texting while driving fines that can be as much as $10,000 per offense and include up to a year in prison. According to the California Office of Traffic Safety a first-time offender will be fined a base fine of $20 while repeat offenders will be required to pay a $50 base fine.

Once the additional charges and mandatory fees are added onto the base fine, a first-time texting while driving offender will be required to pay a minimum of $159 and any subsequent fines will be a minimum of $279. If a person's texting while driving results in an injury accident, the situation is more serious for the driver. Criminal charges may be filed depending on the severity of the accident.

The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) reports that driver distraction, which includes the use of a hand-held mobile device, is the leading cause of car accident and other motor-vehicle accidents within the state. Close to 80% of all car accidents are caused by some type of driver distraction. Statistics have also shown that the number of accidents and deaths caused by drivers who are distracted due to using their cell phones or texting while driving dramatically declines when laws are in place – but some drivers are unwilling to follow state law, and continue to drive and text. It is no surprise then that Orange County police officers, as well as the California Highway Patrol, are extremely diligent when it comes to keeping an eye out for drivers who are texting while operating a vehicle.

If you have been involved in a car accident as a result of texting while driving, you are urged to seek representation from a skilled car accident attorney at once. For more than 30 years the attorneys at Cohn & Swartzon, P.C. have been working hard to defend the rights of car accident victims in Orange County. The firm is well known for their professionalism, ethical standards and high-quality service.

They care about their clients and are dedicated to doing everything possible to help them protect their rights and obtain the best possible outcome for their case. Contact the firm today and schedule an appointment to meet with an experienced Orange County car accident attorney immediately if you have been injured by a distracted driver.